top of page

Where to buy:


Release date: April 5, 2011

  1. Sorry

  2. One Look At You

  3. A World Of Our Own

  4. Keep On Running

  5. Rings On Her Fingers

  6. As Long As You Are Near Me

  7. Bring Back The One I Love

  8. Nobody Lives Forever

  9. Goodnight Goodbye

  10. All The Same

  11. Viennese Hangover

  12. Turn It Around

  13. What Went Wrong

Produced by Don Dixon

THE WAIT IS OVER! The Smithereens’ first album of all new, all original songs in 12 years is here! Produced by Don Dixon (who helmed ‘Especially For You,’ the group’s breakout debut), ‘The Smithereens 2011’ features 13 new tracks and finds the seminal New Jersey rockers picking up right where they left off: with irresistibly catchy hooks and rapturously fuzzed-out guitars. Pulsing with the same raw energy and vitality the band first conveyed 25 years ago, the album easily ranks with the best work The Smithereens have ever recorded.


Eschewing extensive pre-production, the band—lead singer/guitarist Pat DiNizio, guitarist Jim Babjak, drummer Dennis Diken, and bassist Severo “The Thrilla” Jornacion—cut a raw and electric album in the best tradition of Cheap Trick or Big Star that just begs you to roll down the windows and crank up the volume. “We cut our teeth on albums that were carefully crafted to take you someplace,” says Dixon, who’s been dubbed “The Fifth Smithereen” by the band and also co-produced REM’s early records. “That’s all we ever want to do. Take you someplace better.”

The CD booklet contains liner notes by producer Don Dixon and an informative essay by GOLDMINE contributing editor Chris Junior about the album’s recording sessions along with an overview of the Smithereens’ ongoing 31 year career.

“I felt that, for this album, to capture the feeling of the early records it was necessary to go back to our roots.” -Pat DiNizio

bottom of page