top of page

Meet the Smithereens

Release date: January 7, 2007

Paying homage to The Beatles’ groundbreaking album, “Meet The Beatles!,” the Smithereens have rerecorded the album in its entirety, and the result is a fun and nostalgic trip through 12 classic songs done Smithereens style. The CD also features liner notes by legendary promoter Sid Bernstein, musician (and some would say musicologist) Lenny Kaye, Beatles historians Bruce Spizer, Dennis Mitchell and Andy Babiuk, author of the fantastic book, “Beatles Gear.”


Smithereens drummer Dennis Diken says, “‘Meet the Beatles!’ was a call to arms to an army of musically-inclined kids across the nation. There was no turning back after hearing this LP and seeing the Beatles on the ‘Ed Sullivan Show.’ We were instantly hipped to the fact that there can never be anything cooler than playing in a rock n roll band.”

  1. I Want To Hold Your Hand

  2. I Saw Her Standing There

  3. This Boy

  4. It Won’t Be Long

  5. All I’ve Got To Do

  6. All My Loving

  7. Don’t Bother Me

  8. Little Child

  9. Till There Was You

  10. Hold Me Tight

  11. I Wanna Be Your Man

  12. Not A Second Time


“We reinterpreted the album from start to finish with sincerity and the intent of making a very pure record. For me, it’s a way to relive that time in my life. It’s our way of paying homage to a record that blew the lid off rock ‘n’ roll.” -Pat DiNizio

bottom of page